Management Paper: Myers-Briggs Observations

fancy logo/writing for use in MBTI articles

fancy logo/writing for use in MBTI articles (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A few years ago, the first time I took the MBTI, my results were INTJ. This time, my results were ISTJ. I can see how my personality matches up with both results. The MBTI can help me understand myself, others, and how people might interact in teams. This understanding has practical applications for organizational behavior. Knowledge of personalities can help reduce conflicts and facilitate conflict resolution when conflicts do occur.

I am definitely introverted. Crowds tire me and I prefer one-on-one communication. I prefer to think and reflect before I act and I like to keep my thoughts to myself until they’re more fully developed. I tend to listen and get along in groups with extroverts because extroverts like to be speaking about 30-50% of the time. I am quite content taking in my surroundings without making small talk.

Depending on the situation, I can be either intuitive or sensing. I noticed an increase in sensing in my method of perceiving/understanding when I started meditating more regularly. This change makes sense because the focus of mediation is experience in the here and now and the sensing method of perceiving/understanding focuses on the present and reality. I balance common sense with imagination, often coming up with many ideas and narrowing them down to the most practical. I have a good memory for license plates and dates that have meaning but not historical dates that I only have a limited understanding of. I don’t like guessing when the facts are unclear.

I tend to be a thinking person. I like to find facts to inform my intuition. I’m comfortable breaking projects down into tasks and agreeing on who does what by when. Though I like reaching consensus, I like objectively evaluating the facts. When conflict isn’t present, I tend to worry group members may be acting overly polite and not getting to the core of important issues.

My “action orientation” tends to be judging. I think I’m in the mode of perceiving until it’s time to judge. I don’t like “wishy-washy” behavior. Once a group has reached a decision, I like to stick to the decision. If information changes, I like to keep groups informed of changes in case we need to rethink a decision. However, I prefer to stick to decisions until further notice.

I have worked with a variety of personality types. Sometimes I can get along well with people who are opposite (ESFP) and dissimilar but I’ve come to realize that I can’t get along with everyone all the time. In my Psychology textbook, I read that birds of a feather really do flock together. I noticed that I spend more time with introverts. Now that I think of it, I do find it easier to make plans with other judging people and I’ve been trying to be more understanding of cultural differences when it comes to punctuality.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

